©2018 by JeanLab. Université de Sherbrooke is not responsible for the content of this page


JeanLab members

Current team members

Steve Jean, Ph.D.

Principal Investigator


Steve completed his Ph.D. at Laval University and his postdoc at UCSD. He his now interested in early endosomal trafficking events impacting human diseases. In his spare time, he enjoys West Coast IPAs and  spending time with his family!

Sonya Nassari, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral fellow



Caroline Normandin 

PhD student


Caroline did her undergraduate studies at Université de Sherbrooke in microbiology, where she discovered her passion for academic research. She then obtained a master degree in the Jean lab. During that time, she studied the regulation of autophagy. Most recently, she I started a Ph.D, where she studies the negative regulation of an endosomal protein. Apart from lab’s work, she likes to read, and to enjoy outdoor activities, like hiking and kayaking.


Camille Lacarriere

PhD student


Camille obtained a Master of Science in Biochemistry and Biotechnology in Université Paul Sabatier of Toulouse, France, in 2014. During her internship, she worked on the regulation of autophagy during mycobacteria infection. She felt in love with the autophagic process, that’s why she joined the JEAN Lab in 2016. By joining the JeanLab she wanted to keep studying autophagy and to developed her skills in mass spectrometry, and learn to work with new models by using drosophila as a model organism. She completed a Master of Science in Cell Biology in 2018 and started her PhD on the same project: the study of an autophagic regulator in intestinal homeostasis.

Raphaëlle Larcher, M.Sc. student


Suveda V. Maran,

PhD student


I joined the Myograd international PhD program in 2013 and performed my doctorat under shared supervision in between a french and a german lab. During my PhD I investigated the contribution of connective tissue in muscle development. In 2018, I started my postdoc in S. Jean’s lab where I investigate the role of autophagy-related genes in gut homeostasis and inflammatory bowel diseases. 

Past team members

Tomas Del Olmo 

PhD student

Now postdoc in Montpellier France

Annie Lauzier, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist

Now staff scientist in Québec City

Benoit Marchand, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist

Now staff scientist at Université de Sherbrooke


Marie-France Bossanyi

M.Sc. student

Now high school teacher